How To: Download YouTube Videos….for free!

I’ve been wanting to download YouTube videos for ages! I’m not sure about windows, but for all the applications that I found for Macs, they were only shareware! Ok, I started to get pissed off, since I wanted to take bits and pieces of videos and make my own cool shit with other works, but to do that, I needed the vid file itself. So, I finally found a solution! This requires Firefox, and works on both Mac and PC.

Step 1: Download Firefox if you don’t already have it. Get Firefox here.

Step 2: On Firefox, go to https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/4318/ and download the Media Pirate add-on thingy.

Step 3: Once the extension is installed, restart Firefox. You should see this on the left side of your browser toolbar:

The extension is the grayed out icon that my badly drawn red arrow is pointing too.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Step 4: Go to YouTube or some other video site that Media Pirate supports. If you are on a site which it supports, the icon will turn colored, as seen below:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Step 5: Now that you are all set up, click on a video, example: http://youtube.com/watch?v=rkeOB699qfI

The icon will be colored in. Click on the icon, and a new window or tab will open. It will be a Media Pirate page, asking you if this is what you want to download. Click yes, and once it is fully complete, the download window will pop up, and you will be asked where you want to save it. Once it’s saved, the filename that you’ll get (or at least what I got) is ‘getvideo.’

Simply rename it to ‘nameofvideo.flv

Step 6: To view it on Quicktime, you’ll want to convert it, I suggest converting it to .mp4 (iPod Video format) using iSquint. Get iSquint here.

Step 7: You’re all set! Go download those videos!

If you found this article useful, please digg it πŸ˜€

You also might want to check out another how-to!
And check out the latest app over here!

21 comments

  1. daniel · April 7, 2007

    Thanks a lot. I’ve also been looking for a way to download you tube content for free. Haven’t tried this method yet but it sounds promising.

  2. Pat · December 22, 2007

    Here is a site you can search, view and download YouTube video to your PC.

    http://www.ilikeyoutube.com/

    Enjoy!

  3. Paul · January 29, 2008

    Oh sweet, thanks Pat!

  4. tadass · March 23, 2008
  5. Mr.Legend · March 30, 2008

    Hi,
    you can download and save youtube videos on
    http://www.downloadyoutubevids.com
    Here you can also search, watch and download youtue videos.
    All in One πŸ™‚

  6. jerry · May 24, 2008

    Yet another (and my favorite) YouTube grabber = http://www.extractyoutube.com

  7. gino · June 6, 2008

    http://www.keepvid.com
    you can choose the format of the video you get between flv and mp4
    enjoy keepvid

    • Hello World · August 29, 2011

      Keepvid.com is the best….

  8. Lardnapkin · October 27, 2008

    Looks like the ad-on has been pulled,

  9. Adam · November 17, 2008

    Great new downloader http://metatuber.com – many extra features.

  10. Carlos · June 13, 2009

    Hi.
    I use http://www.vid2pc.com – download FLV, mp4 and have tools to convert and extract musics to mp3.

    Regards

  11. alter · October 20, 2009
  12. JohnXY · October 22, 2009

    wow splendid method .
    I have had great results also with http://www.tubeleecher.com

  13. Jay Baldwin · January 13, 2010

    Thank you for this. I have been studding this and I could not comprehend many things until I got that video professor CD ( link: http://bit.ly/learning-software ) With a combination of sites like this and the video tutorials form the bald guy (lol) I was up and running in no time.

  14. roy p · January 18, 2010

    Hey thankee for the free dl I am saving it for later! How did the rest of you here find the guide?? From what I can tell it looks great!! πŸ™‚

  15. streaming download · November 5, 2011

    Hello

    Can I merely mention what a succour to discover someone who actually knows what theyre talking roughly on the internet. You certainly positive how to bring an issue to lightsome and induce it important. More people need to read this
    and take this side of the story. I jargon on youre not more renowned because you unequivocally secure the gift.

  16. video · April 19, 2012

    I’m delighted that I have discovered at this time (Friday) this kind of nice web site pertaining to video, considerably based on Video Censored and Banned from YouTube | 2012 The Awakening, regardless of whether definitely not released nowadays your web site looks like up-to-date, thank you, youtube video editor free

  17. Archie · July 26, 2013

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your weblog. You have some really good posts and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back
    to mine. Please send me an email if interested.

    Kudos!

  18. Sherrie · July 28, 2013

    My spouse and I stumbled over here by a different web address and thought I
    should check things out. I like what I see so now i am following
    you. Look forward to exploring your web page for a second time.

  19. cheap mountain bikes · August 16, 2013

    Hi there, this weekend is pleasant in support of me, since
    this moment i am reading this enormous informative paragraph here at my home.

  20. baby high chairs · August 20, 2013

    My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was totally right.
    This post actually made my day. You can not imagine just how much time
    I had spent for this info! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

