How To: Personalize your Mac, Make it different, unique!

Today, you are going to learn how to make your Mac different, how to make it stand out, and give it a lil’ something that makes it you!

You want your Mac to be different from others, make it so that it catches other people’s eyes! With three simple steps, you can do just that!

1. Get Uno. Tired of the brushed metal look? Perhaps you want a cleaner, lighter interface? Well Uno is just the thing for you. This powerful interface tool allows you various options for changing brushed metal looks in exchange for different unified skins. Trust me, you want this.

2. Remove that butt-ugly dull gray piece of crap background of your dock. Get a nice, clear, and transparent dock instead! With ClearDock, you can also customize various dock factors, such as the arrows pointing to open applications! Here’s my dock 😀

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

3. Notice that my Finder icon was totally pimped out? Or that my trashcan was bleeding? This brings me to my next point: Icons. The best way to make your Mac unique is with icons. CandyBar is an application (demo) which allows you to easily change your Mac’s icons. However, for those who don’t want to pay for an application, you can change icons manually, just by reading my post on How To: Change Icons. You can change almost all your icons manually, however there are few icons such as the finder icon, or trashcan icon which can’t be changed manually.

Links:

Get Uno.
Get Clear Dock.
Get CandyBar.
Got to How To: Change Icons
Get the Monoliff icon set. <—-Really nifty icon set.

NEW VID! Many thanks to Travis Tucker!

6 comments

  1. smiley9 · June 14, 2008

    ok so i get that but how do u change the icons back to normal?

  2. Paul · June 14, 2008

    Highlight the icon and delete it, it should go back to the original icon 🙂

  3. daphne · September 13, 2009

    Hi,
    Was just wondering if you would be able to enlighten me with tiny issue that i’m having with my mac.

    Currently i’m using 2 macbook – one given by the office, and a personal one.
    The office mac has been configured nicely when it came into my hands…
    when booted up, the silliest/cutest thing caught my eye.
    That the name of the SSID that I am connected to, would flashed/dance across the airport icon located at the top right corner of the screen.

    As I have been trying to achieve the same for my personal macbook at home, I couldnt quite figure out the whereabouts of the settings.
    Would be real glad if you could give me alittle pointer.

    Thank you so much!

  4. Damien · March 26, 2010

    yo myself, i think you should run the candybar. go to te dock option. and then restore dock.

    after that, you could delete the candybar again. hope it helps.

  5. Claire · September 8, 2011

    Both Uno and ClearDock don’t work for me…

  6. ITSA ME... ...MARIO · September 23, 2011

    You can change Finder’s icon:

    It’s in /System/Library/CoreServices, you right-click on finder and go Show Package Contents, then you go /Contents/Resources and change Finder.icns!

    Hope this helps someone!

Leave a Reply

