How To: Use your iPod as an External Hard Drive.

Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve posted – So, another How to!

How To: Use your iPod as an External Hard Drive

You will need:
-iPod
-iTunes

Step 1: Connect your iPod to your Mac.

Step 2: Open up iTunes and click on your iPod. Tick the ‘enable hard drive’ box.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Step 3: You’re done! Now you can drag anything to your iPod! Applications, files, anything! You can also do what I do, which is back up my computer to my iPod.

It’s very easy to back up all of your stuff onto the iPod, but many people waste away memory by copying all their music, videos and photos to their iPod, AGAIN! No reason to, people! First off, it’s already possible to retrieve your photos, there’s a folder named photos when you open up your iPod (assuming you are using a video/photo enabled iPod).

So now how do you retrieve music and videos? Considering these two are probably going to take the most space, we certainly don’t want to simply copy everything to a folder in your iPod. So use a program, like iPodDisk and you might want to read my post on how to do it.

For the rest of your applications and files which you want to back up, simply create a folder in your iPod (which should show up on your desktop) and drag and drop everything there. Voila!

6 comments

  1. Charlie · December 6, 2007

    Can it be cross-platform? Can I back up stuff on my iPod from my Mac AND a PC?

  2. Paul · December 6, 2007

    I don’t think so! iPods are Mac format or PC format, you can’t have both at the same time, as far as I know.

  3. Matt · January 21, 2008

    If you format it for PC, a Mac will recognize it and be able to put music and such on it. It will not work the other way around.

  4. Paul · January 21, 2008

    Hmmm, are you sure about that? I remember my friend wanted to hook his iPod that was PC formatted, but I couldn’t use it on the computer without reformatting it.

  5. Austin · January 29, 2009

    ipods are made to work well with pc as well as mac.

    i have both and i download music with my pc, plug my ipod into pc. and then put it on my mac.

    works perfect, both read it fine. as well as both can do exactly what i want with my ipod

  6. Austin · March 31, 2009

    The problem with what you said above is, if you have it formatted for a pc, your ipod can only use 4 gigs of space for your external hard drive. No matter how much your ipod is wether it’s 8 gigs, or 120 gigs.

    but if it is formatted to a mac…. then you can fill the sucker up with what you want. but mac formatted ipods won’t work on a pc. so thats my delima… i want to be able to use a bunch of hard drive space on my 80 gig ipod. but if i format it for mac than i wont be able to use it with my pc and my mac…. anyone have any good solutions? please!…

    and YES, macs read pc formatted and mac formatted ipods

Leave a Reply

